It takes 30 minutes to do the physical exam and complete the DOT medical examination form. Statcare is open weekends, evenings, and all holidays. You can drive in anytime and get same-day DOT CDL certificates!
Employers of trucking companies and truck drivers in private business: Save "idle" time. Keep the trucks on the road. Minimize the time you or your truck or commercial vehicle driver is off the road!
When you come to Statcare, bring your eyeglasses if you wear them and your current CDL license. You don't need to print or bring any DOT form - we provide them free of cost.
Take the completed CDL medical card with you as soon as the visit is completed. We perform the
DMV eye examination and DOT required urine test on-site (takes 2 minutes). Walk out with a completed Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination and a Medical Examiner's Certificate.
Our DOT physical is the quickest and most convenient DOT medical exam on all of Long Island (Nassau, Suffolk, Queens). Any wonder why drivers come to Statcare from Bronx and Queens in NYC for their TLC medical certification and DOT commercial driver’s license certificate?
Not to worry. We are a certified urgent care clinic. Review all the services we provide. If you need medical treatment and follow-up, we will arrange it for you. We can order tests and write prescriptions to treat that problem as well.
You should not delay getting a renewal for your commercial driver's license.
Did you know that:
- You need a new medical certificate every two years?
- You could lose your job, get fined by the DMV or even worse -- have your commercial vehicle impounded in the absence of a valid current DMV medical certificate?
- You can actually renew your CDL up to one year before the expiration date of the commercial driving license?
Why wait? Come on in now!
No. A DOT and CDL physical exam is employment-related and is not covered under insurance plans. For other services, Statcare accepts all major health insurance plans.
Regardless of health insurance, the charge for a DOT medical exam is $99. This includes a urine test and eye exam, too!
You need a DOT physical if you are a commercial driver who operates:
- Vehicles used for commercial purposes that have a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating or combined weight rating greater than 10,000 lbs.
- Vehicles designed to transport 16 or more people, including the driver
- Vehicles used to transport hazardous materials
An original commercial driver license from the New York Department of Motor Vehicles is valid for about five years, although every two years you must certify that you meet federal medical requirements to drive commercial vehicles. The New York State DMV office will send you a renewal notice 45-60 days before your commercial license expires, but you can renew it a year before the expiration date of the commercial driving license.
Useful link: http://www.dmv.org/ny-new-york/apply-cdl.php
Every two years. Statcare gives all healthy drivers (truckers, school bus, and taxi drivers) a medical certificate valid for the full 2 years (which is the maximum allowed in NY State). Other facilities may give you only a 6 month or a 1 year validity on the DOT medical certificate and you will need a renewal at the end of that period. Truck, bus and taxi drivers with medical problems might need to come back sooner.
- Our healthcare professional will talk to you and obtain a brief health history for the DOT/CDL physical examination.
- This is followed by a thorough physical examination of all body systems.
- An eye examination (vision test) will be done to test for visual acuity and color vision. Don't forget to bring your eye glasses with you.
- Your hearing will be tested.
- A urine sample will be tested for blood, protein, and sugar.
- An EKG (heart test) may be done for people with heart trouble.
The DOT physical examination is done to ensure that truck, bus, and taxi drivers are medically fit to operate commercial vehicles. If we find you to be physically and medically qualified to drive a commercial vehicle, we will complete and sign your CDL certificate. You can bring it to your employer or any DMV in NY State.
For your convenience, we offer the following payment options:
- $99 paid in full at the time of visit (regardless of health insurance coverage). Cash, credit, and debit cards are accepted. No personal checks.
- Payment of balance in full by employer at time of service.
New York's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues a commercial driver license (CDL) to
applicants who are residents of New York State and already have a Class D, Class E, or non-CDL Class C license in NY. An out-of-state valid CDL makes you eligible to apply for a NYS CDL and you may be required to surrender your out-of-state license (federal regulations).
The purpose of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 was to improve highway safety and ensure that drivers of commercial vehicles are qualified to drive them, and to remove unsafe commercial drivers from the highways.
The Act established minimum standards for drivers that must be met when issuing commercial driver's licenses (CDLs). The Act also made it illegal to have more than one driver's license - either a regular or a commercial driver's license, but not both. Also, you can have one license from the state you reside in but cannot simultaneously hold multiple CDLs from more than one state. Federal regulations require you to pass a physical exam every two years and be at least 21 years of age for driving commercial vehicles across state lines.
The Act established three separate classes of commercial driver's licenses:
Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GWVR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds
Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR
Class C: Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is placarded for hazardous materials
Many states make exceptions for farm vehicles, snow removal vehicles, fire and emergency vehicles, and some military vehicles.
To be licensed for certain types of commercial vehicles, extra testing is required. If you pass, you
will receive an endorsement on your CDL. The five DOT endorsements that you can apply for are:
- T―Double/Triple Trailers (knowledge test only)
- P―Passenger (knowledge and skills tests)
- N―Tank Vehicle (knowledge test only)
- H―Hazardous Materials (For hazmat, knowledge test only)
- S―School Buses (knowledge and skills tests)
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) regulations require interstate commercial drivers to be medically fit to operate their vehicles safely and competently. You must have passed a CDL medical examination within the past 2 years and carry a current or valid U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) medical certificate on you at all times.
Acceptable proof of examination for the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is a fully completed Medical Examiner’s Certificate Form 649-F (6045). A medical examiner will need to complete the FMCSA Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination, as well as the certificate at the end of the packet.
Links to federal requirements for first-time CDL applicants and current CDL holders:
Medical certification for New York City Taxi and Limousine Commission - "Yellow Cab" applicants for commercial licensure. The purpose of the medical examiner's certificate is to certify that the yellow cab or taxi driver is medically fit to safely operate a NYC TLC licensed yellow cab or taxi or limousine.
Physical examination to determine medical condition of school bus driver under New York City Taxi and Limousine Commission (TLC) and NYS Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Article 19A: The purpose of the medical examiner's certificate is to certify that the bus driver is physically or medically qualified to operate a school bus in accordance with Commissioner's Regulation 6.10 or 6.10-a.
You do not need to bring a form with you to Statcare. We provide all the forms.